internship week 1: Prague

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetTo say that my trip so far has been a crazy adventure would be an understatement. It’s been physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausting, but God is good and I wouldn’t want it any other way. He’s been testing me and challenging me and stretching me in ways I never have been before, but I know He does it to strengthen me. James 1:2-4 reads:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

day 1

My day began with a bright and early wake up call to get to the airport. I said goodbye to my family and walked through the airport doors alone. But I didn’t feel alone. God was walking alongside me every step of the way. I passed through security with ease, woke myself up with some coffee, found my gate, put my headphones in and mentally checked out while I waited nearly three hours to board my plane to New York. I texted a friend, “made it through security no problem! things are going so smooth.” I had barely hit the send button when I glanced up, only to see the words Departure delayed to 12:30. In any other situation, this wouldn’t have been an issue, but that departure time meant a two and a half hour delay, and my connecting flight left only three hours after that plane was originally supposed to land. I panicked, but God was still there. I frantically called my travel agent, silently thanking myself for taking the extra precaution of putting her number in my phone. She quickly booked me on a flight to Paris and from there to Prague. And since that flight left later than my original, I was able to connect with my friend of 12 years in the Seattle airport who was also on her way to Prague for a Josiah Venture internship. Blessings in disguise.

The flight to Paris was long but painless, and I strolled off the plane to find the gate of my next flight. I walked up to the board, found my flight, found my gate, and as I turned to leave, something caught my eye. “Boarding now.” Somewhere along the line, there had been a miscommunication and what was supposed to be a four hour layover was now 45 minutes until my next plane’s departure. Long story short, I made it on the plane with about five minutes to spare. But God was with me, sprinting through the Paris airport. He was there in the seat next to me on my flight, he was there through the frustration when they told me my bag wouldn’t arrive until five days later. Maybe it didn’t always feel like it, but I take comfort in knowing He was there.

day 5

For the first three days, all 100+ Josiah Venture interns ran an Amazing Race through Prague and surrounding areas in the Czech Republic. I was physically and mentally exhausted, but I got to experience so much I wouldn’t have otherwise seen. Now we’re at Josiah Venture’s conference center in Malenovice, learning all about what it means to be a JV Intern and how to do so effectively and with love. It’s been a hard adjustment period for me, but God has been there through it all. He’s been there through the tears, the frustration, the laughs, the anxiety, and every moment in between. If you asked me yesterday, I wanted nothing more than to go home. But today, I have peace and confidence that I’m where I’m supposed to be, and I couldn’t be more excited for this summer.

img_2863.jpg

img_2861.jpg

img_2862.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you to everyone who has supported and encouraged me to get to where I am today. Can’t wait to update you more on this crazy adventure. Stay tuned for more photos, stories, and to find out where I’m going next!

Country count: 1

Yours Truly,

Rachel Joy

 

3 thoughts on “internship week 1: Prague

Leave a Reply

