internship week 2: Malenovice and Frýdlant

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetday 7

On Tuesday, we finished intern training at Malenovice, Josiah Venture’s event center, about three hours outside of Prague. It was incredible to worship, learn, and fellowship for five days with over 100 other interns who will be spending the summer serving in the thirteen different countries JV ministers in. Malenovice felt like home. Mountains covered in evergreen trees surrounded the log cabins of the event center and blue skies turned to grey skies that hovered over our heads, threatening to dump rain any second.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Needless to say, this made me a little homesick for Washington, but also provided me with comfort due to the familiarity of my surroundings, even though I had never been there before. Days were spent hammocking between the trees, playing soccer with other interns, learning about the European culture we were about to immerse ourselves into, stargazing on the few clear nights, and getting to know the people we would be spending our summer with.

This time was restful and relaxing, especially after the high mental and physical stress of the Amazing Race, and a great time for the Communications Team to get to know each other better and bond before jumping into work next week. For the first few days, my anxiety ran high and my energy levels ran low, but as I became more comfortable with this huge transition in my life and grew to love the people around me, I became more and more excited for what this summer has to offer and what God has in store. I felt seriously out of place for nearly the first week, but now I know I’m where I am supposed to be and I can take comfort in knowing this truth.

day 11

Since Wednesday, we’ve been in a little town about ten minutes away from Malenovice called Frýdlant. We will be here for the next two weeks, planning projects and preparing for a summer of traveling to camps in countries across Eastern Europe. Most of our time has been spent exploring and simply in each other’s company, but also playing Signs, attempting to read Czech food labels and buy groceries, taking photos, eating good food, and drinking insane amounts of coffee (but maybe that’s just me). On Friday, we got to walk across the boarder into a town called Česky Polsky in Poland, where we explored parks and city squares for the afternoon.

On Monday, we will begin work in the Josiah Venture office for two weeks. This will be a huge change of pace, considering I’ve spent today drinking coffee and eating pancakes for lunch, curled up in a blanket while writing this post and editing photosIMG_3113 2. But I’m excited to plan our summer projects and get the creative juices flowing.

For those of you who are partnering with me in prayer, first off I want to say a huge thank you for your support. Knowing I have people back home praying for me is extremely comforting and motivating. Please pray that my anxiety will continue to be low, and I will be able to stay present and not miss home too much. Thank you all! Stay tuned for weekly updates every Saturday or Sunday.

country count: 2

Yours Truly,

Rachel Joy

Leave a Reply

