internship week 3: work hard, play harder

 

Processed with VSCO with a8 presetday 14

After just a day of working in Josiah Venture’s office, our team leader sent us into Ostrava, the neighboring city, on assignment to capture architecture and to practice shooting with JV’s artistic style. This has been something new for me, as I’m used to shooting whatever I think is cool and in my own style. While I’m still able to do this and while I’ve noticed a lot of similarities in JV’s and my own style, there’s still been a learning curve and it’s a difficult adjustment. I’ve never shot for anyone but myself, but this summer, it’s all for Josiah Venture and for God’s glory, which has been a humbling experience. That being said, I’m already noticing my skill improve, and that’s probably due to the fact that I spend 100% of my time with other creatives, learning and collaborating with them. While I’m not the youngest intern, I do feel like the most inexperienced. Everyone else here practices their craft professionally, while I feel like I’m still out here just doing it for fun, even though I would like to consider myself a professional. So feeling like I have less experience than everyone else has definitely been a challenge, but that’s why I’m here – to gain experience – and it’s pretty rad that I get to do it surrounded by some incredibly talented artists.

 

DSC_4320day 16

On Thursday, half of our team was sent into Český Těšín, a Czech city on the Polish border, about 30 minutes from Fýdlant, where we’re staying. There, I got to experience what a Czech high school is like, and got to share with them about some of the camps JV will be putting on this summer. Classrooms are small, quiet, and students don’t speak unless spoken to directly. The environment and personalities of students is drastically the opposite of the typical American high school. But it was so interesting to play games with them, get to know them, and watch them slowly open up and start laughing with us. The language barrier will always be a difficult one, but getting to connect with students and bond with them in a short amount of time was such a cool experience.

day 18

On Saturday, the intern’s went over to our intern leader’s house for a big breakfast. Our intern leader, Kyle Evans, was my junior high youth pastor, and I’m close with him and his family, so it was so great to get to spend quality time with them and get a glimpse of what their life is like now that they’re living in the Czech Republic as Josiah Venture missionaries. As we all sat down to breakfast, the drizzling rain outside made the warmth of the house and the smells from the kitchen feel so cozy. It’s moments like these that make me realize how much I appreciate this team and this incredible opportunity we have to be serving and glorifying God this summer.

I’ve said it before, but I will continue to say this – thank you so much to all my supporters! I wouldn’t be here today without your prayers and financial support. You made this summer possible for me and are ultimately a part of Christ’s Great Commission, which is:

“All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:18-20

Check back on Saturdays and Sundays for weekly updates!

country count: 2

Yours Truly,

Rachel Joy

Leave a Reply

